Meet an Instructor: KJ Garner

kj
KJ rides her bike to cast her ballot, 10/19/16

KJ Garner will be joining us each Wednesday in April to teach Biking Basics, a 4-week class to help you gain the confidence to travel on two wheels!  Learn more about KJ and register for her class today.

KJ Garner, Biking Basics
Wednesdays, April 5 -26, 6-7pm
Cohn School, $40
This class is open to ages 13+ so register your teen too!
Profession:
Project manager, educator, and freelance web designer. KJ also runs Nashville Bike Fun!
Years teaching with NCE:
This is my first, but hopefully not my last!

What neighborhood or area of town do you live in?
Inglewood (East Nashville)

Why do you teach at Nashville Community Education?
I enjoy sharing my know-how and learned experiences with others who are beginner or novice bicycle riders. Through an engagement and discovery process, I try to make bicycles and riding on city streets less intimidating and more accessible to everyone.

Although you are teaching a class, what have you learned through students or others?
Never assume you know everything about a topic – and never assume that there is only one solution to a problem. Most of the time, when people ask questions, they are trying to establish a level of confidence and understanding, and it’s the role of an educator to provide a pathway of validation for their inquiries.

If you weren’t teaching a class, what class would you be taking OR what class are you taking in addition to teaching?
I would love to be able to get a conversational foundation in Spanish, so I would be taking an introductory Spanish language class.

What is one thing you wish people knew about NCE?
There is such a wide range of classes available, and the NCE staff are generous with their time and will help you find the right one for your interests and schedule!

Mom_KJ_Kid
KJ and her mom, Carole, with the family dog and KJ’s first bike in Wilson, NC, 1977

What’s one thing we would be surprised to learn about you?
I adopted a bus stop through my full moon bike club and in taking responsibility for it I have become much more connected to my neighborhood. This has led to more community involvement and a greater sense of place for me.

When you aren’t teaching a class with us, how are you spending your time?
I teach seminars and private lessons through my business, Bike Fun; hang out with my 14 year old dog, Frankie; and ride my bike all over Nashville.

What’s the last book, podcast, or blog you read or listened to?
I am a huge fan of the BBC podcast “Witness.” It’s history told by the people who lived it. Recent episodes I enjoyed were on topics such as Italy’s vote on divorce in 1974, and the German Bund movement in the late 1930s in the US. Each episode of “Witness” is about 10-15 minutes long and is riveting.

Favorite back road to get around town?
When I have work down in the Brentwood area, I will take 8th Avenue/Franklin Road most if not all of the way there. That applies if I am in my car OR on my bike!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Meet an Instructor: KJ Garner

Leave a Reply

