AARP helps more than just 50+ year olds

by LaToya Pickett

life-reimagined
As someone under 30, LaToya  entered the Life Reimagined class with fear of being too young for the AARP brand, but she actually learned how to maximized her passions and desires through this class.

How does AARP fit for a person under 30?

Nashville Community Education hosts the AARP’s Life Reimagined class and it truly is for all ages.

Described as a session to help you navigate the next phases of your life, you will leave equipped with the tools – and a nifty workbook – to explore what you currently do and how you can get to your goals.

After attending the class, here’s what you will learn.

  1. If you are younger than 30 you will think about your life past 30 in ways you’ve never done before. I was able to talk to women who were retirement age, or close to it, and they gave a new perspective. My takeaways were learning independence, gracefully moving into new areas of your life, and a certain age doesn’t have to dictate the end of your living.

You will be provided with a workbook to work through about finding and maximizing your passions. The spiral graphic begins at birth, ends in death and twists and turns in between. We circled the part of the image where we currently are in life and listed the important moments so far. My list includes graduating college and moving back to Nashville.

  1. Preparation is key for a successful and an active life. Being a millennial, I am conditioned to think more currently and hope everything works in the future.

In the workbook, there was a checklist of things that are important in life. Mrs. Walker advised us to check five things that are most important to us. I checked Time with family, having close friends, building my career, being healthy and my faith. With the things I found most important to me, I know that strength in these things only comes with making plans to accomplish them.

  1. Don’t be afraid to share your passions. Sometimes it is hard to articulate myself to new people and it’s even harder to project my passion to them. I’m a very guarded person and every day I try to showcase my real self. Mrs. Walker said in a world full of people who are trying so hard to be something other than themselves, just be excellent as yourself. She gave me permission to exhibit my passions and go after them.

She also provided this great formula for a meaningful life:

Gifts (things you are good at) + Passions (things you love) + Values (things that motivate you) = Passion.

  1. Just do it. The last activity for the class was checking two activities on the personalized GPS. I checked choose and act. The workbook describes the mindset of choosing to commit to making a change, and the action of weighing your options and deciding on your new direction. The mindset for act is that you can do it and taking action is the first step. You can adapt as you go.

After attending the class, I want to take all that I learned and continue on my journey to greatness.

I’m so glad I didn’t let the title of AARP scare me and I’m ready to reimagine my life.

NCE will host another Life Reimagined Class on December 6 from 6:00pm-8:00pm at the Cohn Learning Center.

 

Leave a Reply

