Meet an Instructor: Carol Roberts

carol-robertsHello Nashville Community Education fans, I’m Carol Roberts and I’ll be teaching Expressive Journal Writing at our new satellite location, Martha O’Bryan Center! I live in East Nashville and this is my second time teaching for NCE.

Expressive Journal Writing is not a creative writing  class where you are concerned about correcting words or grammar. It’s about sharing your feelings and exploring them via writing. I introduce a modern poem and we talk about it a while. Then I introduce a writing prompt based on the poem and what we have discussed. This is not therapy, but people often find writing in a group like this therapeutic.  We make it a safe place.

I would love to take several classes at NCE this fall: Reading and Writing Poetry, Online Marketing Basics, Handmade Books, Basic Home Repair and the Nashville Farmers’ Market Series.  It will be hard to decide!

One thing you probably don’t know about me from a bio is that I make  really good pancakes (with flax seed) and home made blueberry sauce.

When it comes to knowing Nashville, I believe learning the back roads is crucial.  The GPS finder will direct you to the interstate every time even when there is a much better local route.  I use Lebanon Road from Nashville to Donelson and sometimes even Mt. Juliet.

I love teaching at NCE because it is a gift to this community.  The classes are fun and it’s a great way to make new friends. I look forward to meeting you all in class!

Learn more about Carol on her blog: http://poetryforthejourney.com/

Leave a Reply

