Meet an Instructor: Bert Knupp

Throughout the Fall we will be introducing you to some of our amazing instructors. Get to know each of them a little more here and on their bios located in our online registration system (click on instructor name and it should take you to a page about them!)

Bert KnuppMeet Robert T. (Bert)  Knupp, our German instructor!

Profession:  Retired trainer, career counselor and planner with Metro Government

Years teaching with NCE:  Since 1979 at various former locations and currently at the Cohn School.

Why do you teach at Nashville Community Education?
Best bargain in town for adult learning. Invariably I get motivated, interested and interesting learners every time I teach.

What class(es) are you interested in taking?
Would like to learn Mandarin Chinese,  Arabic, and Welding. (NCE note: we do not currently offer Arabic and Welding, but if you know a teacher call us!)

What’s one thing we would be surprised to learn about you?
I am not German. I learned German as an English-speaker in school – just as our students do. I’ve done this myself!

When you aren’t teaching a class with us, how are you spending your time?
I restore and show antique Volkswagens; play in Nashville Ukulele Society; and I travel.

What’s the last book, podcast, or blog you read or listened to?
I read Paula Dreyser’s book, Calling U.S.A. – which I assisted the author with.

What’s one thing that new Nashvillians would be surprised to know about the city?
Just how livable and cosmopolitan it is becoming. I came as a newcomer and have watched it grow up nicely.

Favorite back road to get around town? You think I’m going to give it away?!

This Fall, Bert will be teaching:

German I
Tuesdays, Sept 6 – Oct 18, 6:00-8:30pm
$50, Cohn School

German II
Tuesdays, Oct 25 – Nov 29, 6:00 – 8:30pm

$50, Cohn School

2 thoughts on “Meet an Instructor: Bert Knupp

  1. Hi Bert, my name is Jean White, hopefully you are the Bert Knupp l worked with thru the Mayor’s Office at the Stahlman Bldg. You frequently traveled to Germany as well as your children. I too have traveled there in connection with AQHA Shows. Sending you this in hopes of re connecting with an old co worker.

Leave a Reply

