Instructor Spotlight: Chris Whitsett

 

sifu chris tai chi

I have admired the work of Nashville Community Education for years. It’s exciting to see all of the original and interesting classes offered to the community. When I moved closer to Nashville this past summer, I knew I wanted to be a part of that excitement. I submitted the paperwork to begin a Tai Chi program, and was honored to have the opportunity to share this ancient exercise to the community.

My favorite part of teaching is seeing students enjoying the process of learning, and feeling the health benefits of Tai Chi. It’s simply wonderful to see someone feel better after a class than they did before.

My interest in Tai Chi began 10 years ago when I started learning from my Kung Fu teacher. Later, I began to learn a little more from different instructors and sources. Personally, I noticed Tai Chi helped me recover from running more effectively as well as increasing my overall well-being and attitude. Eventually, I earned certifications to teach Tai Chi as well as Kung Fu. My appreciation for Tai Chi grows each and every day. It’s definitely a lifelong journey. I still have a ton to learn myself.

I’m very excited about the upcoming Kung Fu classes. This is a fun way to improve fitness levels and self-defense skills. Also, students will have the opportunity to learn an ancient, historic, and beautiful art form. Most people think of Kung Fu as punching and kicking. That is part of the process, but our focus is on self cultivation and improving the quality of life for ourselves as well as those around us.

Leave a Reply

