We are halfway through our Winter semester and we thought it was important for you to get a glimpse at our team and who they are from behind their desk. We start with our newest team member, Sadie Meaher. Sadie joins Nashville Community Education as our Communications Coordinator. Many of you have spoken with her about registering for classes or have seen her peek into the classroom to take photos. Here is a quick interview with Sadie:

  1. Tell us a little bit about your background in Communications?

I have always wanted to be in the communications field. It is just a diverse industry, and  it always intrigued me as a student.  I received my B.A. in Communications from Tulane University.

  1. How has your background in nonprofit and healthcare marketing prepared you for this role with Nashville Community Education?

After graduation, I started my career in non-profit. Every non-profit has an important message to convey to the community and donors. It was very rewarding to share the stories of the people the organization helps and convey to the supporters how their donations and support can truly make a difference. My non-profit experience really shaped my approach to healthcare marketing. Going into the field, I knew the value a healthcare company could have in helping others. All of my experiences prepared me to be the Communications Coordinator at NCE. NCE offers great services and opportunities for the people of Middle Tennessee. I knew right away I wanted to be part of conveying our story, so others could benefit from our services.

  1. Since starting with the department, what interests you most about the program?

I am fascinated how the program has really shaped the lives of some of the students. I hear stories of how a class helped someone with their career path, helped them discover a new passion, or even create a healthier lifestyle.  It is amazing how one small department can impact so many people.

  1. What does your position entail?

My position entails a wide variety of duties. Mostly, I work to collect and analyze each semester and class data for the annual report and marketing campaigns, connecting with students through social media, and designing the class catalog. I answer questions for students about classes, and I assist instructors on how to market their classes.

  1. Are there any standout classes that you are looking forward to in the Winter semester? Why?

If I could take a class with in NCE this semester, there are three classes I would love to take. The first one is Personal Brand: Maximizing Personal Impact. The job market has changed so much in the past few years. It is critical to have a personal brand to make you stand out from the competition. Even if you have a set career path, you can still grow and expand that path by having your own brand. I enjoy healthy cooking, so 8 Laws on Health is definitely on my list. We offered this class in the fall, and I was amazed how the instructor turned some of my favorite guilty foods into healthy foods. I had no idea you could make chocolate pudding healthy! I would also love to take the grant writing classes. Writing grants is a valuable skill no matter your industry.

If you stop by the office, say hello to Sadie. Learn more about our team and catalog for the rest of the semester by visiting http://www.Nashville.gov/CE.

Leave a Reply

