Interning at Community Education

photo

Hello! I’m Glenda, the 2013 Summer Intern from the Nashville Career Advancement Center, and I am assigned to Nashville Community Education. Although the internship only runs through June, I have had a lot to accomplish around the office, from filing to teaching. I’ve worked part time every week, and I have assisted everyone around the office in their various tasks. Soon, the Nashville Community Education office will be moving, and a lot needs to be done in preparation for The Big Move. So far, everyone in the office has been anxiously waiting for July 1st, the arrival date of the new office furniture. Once these big pieces are in, the office will be inhabitable. Also, we have been in the process of expanding our campus to Antioch, as well as the possibility of offering new classes with new instructors. All of which is a work in process throughout the month that I will be here! Pending projects aside, I have been given the opportunity to student teach the Beginning Computer class for seniors alongside the Executive Director, Lovette Curry, who kindly gives her Thursday mornings up to teach.

It was a challenge to return to the basics in order to teach others what I know by heart, because computers simply come naturally to me. I have played on phones, computers, and other electronic devices since I was very young, unlike others, who simply weren’t born in this particular era of technology. Regardless, it was fun to engage others and attempt to reach various students who needed different methods in order to better understand my instructions. The computer basics class started with the different types of computers and operating systems; then it went into how to use the mouse and save files. All of these skills took time to teach due to the complexity of the various components that come with using a computer. Sometimes, the main teacher, Lovette, would stop and elaborate in response to the many confused looks and glances that went around, which were mostly unnoticed by me. Other times, it went vice versa. Generally, it is hard to teach when the students don’t ask questions or when I, as an instructor, believe that everyone understands. Now, I understand my high school teachers’ frustrations! It’s a work in progress, but there are many students who want to learn more, and this is what matters.

Leave a Reply

